PDP gets majority seats in Edo Assembly with 15 members , APC 8, LP 1


The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has with the conclusion of the supplementary election in the state formally take over the majority seats at the Edo state House of Assembly having 15 out of the 24 members in the House.

The opposition party in the state,All Progressives Congress, APC , followed with eight seats and the Labour Party (LP) with one seat.

The supplementary House of Assembly election saw PDP winning the three seats under contention in Oredo East, Ovia South West, and Egor State Constituencies.

The results show that Hon. Destiny Oghayerio Enabulele, Hon. Natasha Irobosa Osawaru, and Hon. Uyi Frank Omosigho, all of the PDP, won in Ovia South West, Egor, and Oredo East Constituency, respectively.

An elated Edo state governor , Mr Godwin Obaseki commended Edo people who participated in the elections for comporting themselves responsibly during the exercise and ensuring the peaceful conclusion of the elections.

“I applaud the tenacity of our candidates, Hon. Destiny Oghayerio Enabulele, member-elect of Ovia South West Constituency; Hon. Natasha Irobosa Osawaru, member-elect of Egor Constituency, and Hon. Uyi Frank Omosigho, member-elect of Oredo East Constituency, for gaining the trust of the people to serve them in the Assembly. We are sure that these members-elect will uphold the best interest of their constituents as they carry out their assignment as legislators,” Obaseki said.

He also commended INEC for conducting a peaceful exercise and upholding the wishes of the people, saying the very diverse Assembly that has emerged has representatives that are youths and women, who will make critical contributions to lawmaking and advancement of the interests of all segments of the Edo society.

Recall that after the March 18, 2023 State Assembly elections, INEC had announced results of 21 out of 24 constituencies in the Edo State House of Assembly which showed that PDP won 12 seats, APC eight seats, and LP one seat.

A breakdown of the results showed that Idlave Yekini Oisavemoie (PDP) won in Akoko Edo I, Okogbe Ojeme Donald (PDP) won in Akoko Edo II, Igbiremonlen Fada Sunday (PDP) won in Esan Central, Edeko Maria Omozele (PDP) won in Esan North East II, while Oiezele Osezua Sunday (PDP) won in Esan South East.

Similarly, Igueben was won by PDP’s Inegbebor Ojei Eugene; Ikpoba-Okha – Asonsere Nicholas Friday (PDP); Orhionmwon II – Iyamu Aitenguoba Bright (PDP); Ovia North East I – Aiguobarueghian Charity (PDP); Ovia North East II – Uzamere Odsolor Andrew (PDP); Owan West – Agbebaku Blessing Sheriff (PDP); and Uhunmwode – Osamwonyi KayCee (PDP).

APC won in Esan North East I (Addeh Emankhu Isibor), Esan West (Ibhamanu Jonathan), Etsako Central (Oshmah Ahmed), Etsako East (Ugabi Kingsley O.), Etsako West I (Lecky Hussein Mustapha), Etsako West II (Akokhia Abdul Ganiyu), Orhionmwon I (Atu Osamwonyi), and Owan East (Eric Okaka Allison), while LP clinched Oredo West Constituency (Edosa Richard Osaro).

These House of Assembly members-elect have since received their certificates of return from INEC.

INEC had, however, declared three seats in Egor, Oredo East, and Ovia South West Constituencies inconclusive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email