Impeachment; Edo Chief Judge reshuffles Probe Panel, drops two members


The Edo chief judge, Hon Justice D.I Okungbowa has announced a Minor reshufflement in the 7 man panel set up to investigate the allegations against the Edo state deputy governor, Philip Shaibu by the Edo state House of Assembly.

According to the Press release signed by the Chief registrar of the State High Court,
B. O. Osawaru, two members of the panel, namely Prof. Violent Aigbokhaebo and Boniface Ononion Edegbai were replaced.

The newly introduced members are President Aigbokhian Esq and Mariam Erakhoba Ilavbare Esq. Member

The press release read thus;

This is to bring to the notice of the general public that in line with
Section 188(5) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), the Honourable the Chief Judge of Edo State, Honourable Justice D.I. Okungbowa has constituted the PANEL OF SEVEN PERSONS to investigate the allegations contained in the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Rt. Honourable Philip Shaibu.

This is sequel to the resolution of the Edo State House of Assembly on the 19th March, 2024 which was sent to The Honourable the Chief Judge of Edo State.

The said Panel of Seven Persons is comprised of the following persons:

  1. Hon. Justice S.A. Omonua (Rtd.) – Chairman
  2. Professor Theresa Akpoghome Member
  3. Mr. Oghogho Ayodele Oviasu Member
  4. Surv. Dr. Andrew Oliha Member
  5. Mr. Idris Abdulkareen – – Member
  6. President Aigbokhian Esq.
  7. Mariam Erakhoba Ilavbare Esq. Member

B. O. Osawaru
Chief Registrar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email