Oshiomhole, 3 former governors yet to Sponsor bill in 10 months


The Edo state former governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole who is in the Senate representing Edo north district along with three other former governors in the Senate and 21 other senators have not sponsored any bill since June 13, 2023 when the 10th National Assembly was inaugurated,

A document obtained by Daily Trust from the National Assembly showed that from June 13, 2023 to March 14, 2024, twenty five senators, including four former governors, have not sponsored any bill.

The former governors on this list are Senators Seriake Dickson (PDP-Bayelsa West), Adams Oshiomhole (APC-Edo North), Abdulaziz Yari (APC -Zamfara West) and Simon Lalong (APC – Plateau South).

Contacted for comments, Senator Oshiomhole told the newspaper that he was working on a bill and would soon present it to the floor of the Senate. His media aide, Victor Oshioke, told Daily Trust that his principal had sponsored a motion on the Benin-Auchi Road. “So, he is sponsoring his own bill very soon too,” he said

The ex-governors in the Senate are Senate President Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Aliyu Wammako (Sokoto), Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto), Adams Oshiomhole (Edo), Ibrahim Dankwambo (Gombe), Abubakar Bello (Niger), Orji Kalu (Abia), Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa), Adamu Aliero (Kebbi), Danjuma Goje (Gombe), Gbenga Daniel (Ogun) and Simon Lalong (Plateau).   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email