Obaseki appoints non PDP members as Commissioners designate ahead of election


The Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has sent the names of four new commissioner-nominees to the Edo State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation. 

The commissioner nominees unlike previous arrangements are composed of some non members of his party, people’s Democratic party PDP.

The commissioner nominees are Asi Surajo Jubril, Zubairu Dada Abubakar, Osilama Okuofo and Ogbeide

The commissioner nominee from Etsako west LGA, DADA Abubakar who was formerly of the PDP, contested for Etsako west House of Assembly under the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP). 

Again, the nominee from Egor LGA,Mr Ifaluyi Isibor is a known supporter of Peter Obi of the labour party, LP.

In a letter addressed to the Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly, Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie Esq., communicated the nomination of the four persons to the House. 

According to him, “I write at the instance of His Excellency, the Governor of Edo State, Mr. Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki, to forward herewith the underlisted names of commissioner-nominees to the Edo State House of Assembly for consideration and confirmation. 

Ogie added, “Please find attached thirty (30) copies each of the nominee’s curriculum vitae. I also request that the nominees be expeditiously screened and confirmed. 

“Please accept the assurances of the warm regards of the Governor.” 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email